Connect with us
Via @fifaworldcup on Instagram


Messi wins best player award

Lionel Messi bagged the Men’s Player of the Year award at the annual Best FIFA Football Awards at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan, Italy.

It was the sixth time that the 32-year-old Argentinian won the award, putting him one ahead of Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo.

The duo has dominated the award since 2008, with their string of victories only interrupted by Croatia’s Luka Modric last year.

Following his historic win, Messi said, “I want to thank those who gave this prize to me. Even though individual awards are a secondary thing to me, it is a unique moment and it is good to celebrate it with my family and my children.”

Meanwhile 34-year-old American Megan Rapinoe, who led the US women’s team to this year’s World Cup victory, took home her first Women’s Player of the Year award, beating teammate Alex Morgan.

Rapinoe, who plays for Reign FC in the National Women’s Soccer League, said, “Jill Ellis and the rest have put us in a great position. This was an incredible year for women’s football. For those who just noticed you are a bit late to the party. It truly was incredible to be part of the World Cup – the enthusiasm we had was amazing.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News

More in Football